• Home
  • Education
  • News
  • The International Woolmark Prize 2016/2017 British Isles Nominees

The International Woolmark Prize 2016/2017 British Isles Nominees

By Vivian Hendriksz


Scroll down to read more


London - Following the announcement of the European nominees for the 2016/2017 International Woolmark Prize cycle comes news of the British Isles nominees.

Four menswear and four womenswear labels from the British Isles have been shortlisted for this cycle, including: Baartmans & Seigel, Craig Green, Cottweiler, and Liam Hodge for the menswear category and Ashley Williams, Ryan Lo, Faustine Steinmetz, and Danielle Romeril in the womenswear category.

Emerging women's wear designers, Ashley William, Ryan Lo and Faustine Steinmetz where previously named as recipients for the British Fashion Council NewGen, for the Autumn/Winter 2016 cycles to showcase their collections during London Fashion Week this February, whilst men's wear designer Craig Green has been nominated for the British Fashion Awards' Emerging Talent Award menswear.

The nominees are set to join the other 69 regional designers, who stem from a total of 61 countries, in competing for the International Woolmark Prize. Following the regional semi-finals, 12 finalists, 6 womenswear and 6 menswear designers will be given 50,000 AU dollars to develop their collection for the next phase of the competition, the international finals. The winners of the final cycle will crown one winning womenswear designer and menswear designer, who will be awared with 100,000 AU dollars to help further develop their collections and see their collections sold in luxury department stores around the world.

Previous winners of the prize include Taetum Jones, Suket Dhir and Rahul Mishra. The British Isles regional award is set to take place on July 5, at the Australian High Commission in London, UK.

Photos: Designer Faustine Steimetz, Craig Green AW2016, designer Danielle Romeril and Liam Hodge.

Ashley Williams
baartmans and seigel
british isles
Craig Green
Faustine Steinmetz
International WoolMark Prize
Rahul Mishra
taetum jones