On a board meeting July 19, the Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) approved membership for 14 designers, bringing total membership to 519. Last year, the organization added 40 new members.

The newly minted members are Virgil Abloh of Off-White, Stirling Barrett of Krewe, Andrea Fohrman, Fernando Garcia and Laura Kim of Monse, Chloe Gosselin, Kerby Jean-Raymond of Pyer Moss, Julia Jentzsch, Chris Leba of R13, Becca McCharen-Tran of Chromat, Monica Sordo, Temple St. Clair, Wing Yin Yau of Wwake and Bonnie Young of BY.Bonnie Young.

#tbt our first show ???? @tokibunbun @fernandogarciam1205

A post shared by MONSE (@monsemaison) on

To be considered for admittance to the CFDA designers must submit an application package along with letters of recommendation to the CFDA's admission committee. Accepted candidates are approved by the organization's board of directors. Applicants must be U.S. citizens designing stateside or abroad, or international applicants with headquarters in the United States.

As a non-profit trade organization, the CFDA is committed to giving American designers and businesses the ability to compete in the global economy. The distinction of being welcomed to the CFDA affords designers a higher public profile and more leverage to continue to grow their business.





Latest jobs