• Home
  • News
  • Fashion
  • Sophia Webster, H&M and Primark win at WGSN awards


Sophia Webster, H&M and Primark win at WGSN awards

By Danielle Wightman-Stone

May 18, 2015

London - British footwear designer Sophia Webster, retailer’s H&M and Primark, along with Agi & Sam, Diesel, Kate Spade New York and Farfetch were among the winner’s at this year’s WGSN Global Fashion Awards, which honours fashion's ‘most innovative individuals and businesses’ from around the globe.

London Fashion Week footwear designer Webster was crowned with the Breakthrough Footwear and Accessories Designer accolade, cementing her amazing few seasons, beating off global competition from British designer Charlotte Simone, American-based label Mansur Gavriel and Man Ching Chan, UrbanCraft from Hong Kong.

Other British winners included Agape Mdumulla and Sam Cotton, Agi & Sam taking the Breakthrough Menswear Design award, while budget fashion chain Primark beat off competition from Topshop, El Palacio de Hierro in Mexico and Geekgoeschic.co based in Poland with its ‘Primania’ campaign to win Best Digital Innovation, a new category for 2015 recognising a brand or designer who has adopted digital technology.

The tight all-British contest for Emerging Brand was won by Marques Almeida, beating off competition from Faustine Steinmetz, Lily Kamper and Liam Hodges.

Lauretta Roberts, founder and director, WGSN Global Fashion Awards said: “These have been some of the most tightly fought awards in our five-year history and the most global yet. Our nominees came from five different continents and 24 different countries and each one of them is a true innovator in their field.

“One of the special things about the WGSN Global Fashion Awards is its ability to help put emerging brands and designers on the global map and kick-start their careers; people should look out for this year’s winners as we are sure they are all destined for greatness.”

British success at this year’s WGSN Global Fashion Awards

Other design winners included Barbara Casasola who took home the Breakthrough Womenswear Designer accolade, while Natália Vechiatto Feitoza e Silva was awarded the Future Designers Award, and House of Holland Eyewear won the Footwear and Accessories Design prize. In addition, Tiger of Sweden were presented with the Menswear Design Award; Peter Alexander took home the Kidswear Design accolade, while Polartec were honoured with the Activewear Design.

There were also awards for retailers, H&M were honoured with the Design Collaboration award for its collection with Alexander Wang, while Diesel picked up Denim Design, and Kate Spade New York were awarded Best New Retail Concept for its Houston flagship.

Online retailer Farfetch were named Best E-Store, S*uce picked up Multi-brand Offer award, Equipment were honoured with the Womenswear Design award, while Rambler were honoured with the Sustainable Design, and Level Shoe District took home the Best Store honour.

The night also inducted fashion editor Colin McDowell into the Hall of Fame, awarding him with the Outstanding Achievement award, while model Twiggy was award the Hall of Fame: Icon honour.

Roberts added: “We were also incredibly honoured to be able to recognise two individuals with long and distinguished careers in fashion, in both Twiggy and Colin McDowell. Their achievements should be an inspiration to all of us.”

Images: WGSN Global Fashion Awards and Sophia Webster AW15 presentation